‘Record’ – by Sree

“Hey, you keep a journal!”  my roomie asked, seeing me engrossed in my diary.

“Yeah, I do.” I replied looking up at her.

“Really! I mean…why? people nowadays don’t write diaries any more.” She made a face.

“I love to record my thoughts, memories and things that touch my heart in my diary.” I smiled and looked down at my diary again.

“Huh! you are such an old school. People now take pictures, selfies or videos to capture their special moments. You can see them anytime to cherish those moments. They are more lively. Aren’t they?” She had a smug look on her face.

“I don’t think so…please explain to me how you are supposed to snap the moment when you lay your head in your mother’s lap and cry for hours to get over a painful loss…or the feeling when for the first time you get a glimpse of your elder sister’s baby…or when your father is on the verge of breaking down, yet somehow holds back his tears as you are leaving town for further studies. Can you capture those moments in your camera or mobile?” I asked, smiling at her.

My roomie stared at me for a while and looked away.  Daily Prompt: Record

One thought on “‘Record’ – by Sree

Leave a Reply

