A massive dream

‘Your book is a massive hit!’ My father exclaimed as he read the reviews.

‘Is it?’ I asked, nervously walking up and down the room.

‘Yeah…why are you still so nervous?’ he laughed lightly.

‘Dad! The book promotion tours are starting from tomorrow, and I have no idea what I should do, how I should talk. See, my hands are shaking! I would screw it up…I’m dead sure.’ I made a face.

‘I’m telling you that your book is a huge hit and all you care about is your promotional event?’ He laughed out loud.

‘Don’t you know what I am like? I freak out when I see so many people. And here I would be the center of attention, people would be asking questions, they would click pictures. And do you know what my editor said? She said I would have to sound attractive, I should be ready with a quick and witty reply to all the questions. I don’t think I can do this.’ I sat down on the bed; tears welled up in my eyes. My father came over and sat beside me. He placed his hand on my shoulder.

‘Just be yourself. They like your writings and they would be there to see the person behind those beautiful pieces of art. Be your normal self…let people know what a simple girl you are, tell them about your struggling days, inspire them with the narration of your dream come true moment when your book got published. Nobody should tell you how you should behave, when all you have achieved today is by being you…your own self.’

‘What if I turn out to be a massive gross-out at the event?’ I asked and looked at him while trying to hold back my tears. He removed his hand from my shoulder, placed it on my head and caressed it. I recalled the day I told him I wanted to be a writer; everything seemed muddled up, yet I was pretty sure what I wanted. Just like this moment, he sat beside me and caressed my head with a smile on his face.

‘You are a massive inspiration who once dared to have a massive dream which seemed nearly impossible to everyone. If that is called a gross-out, then I am a proud father of a perfectly flawed daughter.’ He said.

Tears fell from my eyes; I leaned my head on his shoulder and said, ‘Thanks Dad.’

via Daily Prompt: Massive

2 thoughts on “A massive dream

  1. Reblogged this on Site Title and commented:
    In relating its world view in Christianity, the enormous and unprecedented names of God; omniscience, omnipotent, omnipresent are ascribed to God only. Even though large crowds were going along with Jesus(Luke 14:25), crowd cried to Pilates ignorantly crucify him (Mark 15:8-15). Many, even
    “Multitudes, (again) multitudes are in the valley of decision!” But the right decisions are to be taken because “the day of the LORD is near in the valley of decision.” (Joel 3:14). Then one need not to Thou shalt not to “follow a multitude to do evil; neither shalt thou speak in a cause to decline after many to wrest judgment” Exodus 23:2. Also Many will tell me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, didn’t we prophesy in your name, in your … working power of God, which every man witnesses that calls upon him.Mathew 7:22 but unfortunately there will no be room for this “many.” Likewise many will say as the revelation says “After these things I heard something like a loud voice of a great multitude in heaven, saying, “Hallelujah! Salvation and glory and power belong to our God.” Revelation 19:1. this are the redeemed. This last part is my desire and for others ….!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

