Get ready to conquer the world girl!

‘Such a weird girl you are!’ Her mother said in a frustrating tone as they entered their house and went straight to the kitchen. Tears welled up in the eyes of the little girl. She tried hard to hold them back. She darted towards her room and as she stepped inside, closed the door behind her. She swallowed hard and covered her mouth with her hands to refrain herself from breaking down. But eventually she did; it was not her fault, she was just 12. She tried hard to not make any sound, but every little part inside her started to collapse making her wail even louder.

‘Remember she used to be so smart when she was just 5 years old! She would easily mix with people…would talk a lot. She was not so dumb back then.’ Her father had said the previous day. She remembered it at that moment and her heart twinged even more.

She gingerly moved towards the window and looked up at the sky. She sniffled and wiped the tears from her eyes.’ It hurts more when Mom and Dad call me weird or…strange. I don’t know why I am like this or why I suddenly turned into an introvert. But one thing I know for sure and that is it’s not my fault. Tell me God! am I broken? Why do people talk to me like I need to be fixed? They keep asking me – ‘Why are you so quiet? Do you ever have an opinion of your own?…you are always silent…staying like this won’t get you anywhere in life.‘ Is it so difficult to let me be? Maybe I am different…so what? Why do I have to behave like them…or the way they want?’ The girl thought to herself; tears rolled down her eyes. She sniffled again and leaned her forehead against the window. ‘I’m tired God…if there’s really something broken inside of me, please fix that.’

The 26 year old version of the girl stood next to her leaning against the window; she had a smile on her face as she stared at her younger version. She muttered,’ It hurts whenever I remember you. You are right…there’s nothing to fix inside both of us. God never fixes his own creations for he knows we are perfect the way we are. By the time you’ll reach my age, you will have stopped thinking that there’s something wrong with you. You will have conquered the fear of losing people just because you decided to be yourself. Your uniqueness would make you stand out from the crowd. Get ready to conquer the world girl!’

via Daily Prompt: Conquer

2 thoughts on “Get ready to conquer the world girl!

  1. This resonates with me because I’m an introvert and it’s exactly like this. People think there’s something wrong with you; that you have no opinion or voice when in reality, we introverts have a strong opinion and voice that can be heard during chaos. Because we speak less, our words are valued. Because we think more, our thoughts are beautiful. (I got carried away, opps? xx)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

