There’s no rule of love

“The two of you have a symbiotic relationship.” My roomie made a passing comment after I hung up my phone; I was talking with my boyfriend.

“Why?” I asked her.

“Why not? Some days you go out with him…some days you don’t even call him. Some weekends you go on vacation together, and on some, you don’t even care to meet. What kind of a relationship is this? Friends with benefits!” She had a smug look on her face.

“Do you meet all your friends everyday?” I asked with a straight face.

“No.”

“Do you meet your parents everyday?…or your brother?”

“No.” She frowned.

“Ah! Then probably you call them everyday…don’t you?”

She stared at me for a while and said,” No…I don’t. Why would I call or meet them everyday?” She said with irritation, furrowing her brows.

“Then why do you call your boyfriend 10 times a day, or feel obliged to meet him everyday or on every weekend?…Tell me!” I smirked.

She stared blankly at me for a second and then said,” It’s different…you can’t…”

I cut her short saying,” let me tell you. You feel insecure. You love him, right? then why are you scared to lose him? Why don’t you just be yourself when you are with him? you suppress your feelings, your opinions or for that matter anything that might upset him. Why? Probably he does the same, dreading your reaction to it. Aren’t there some days when you feel tired and don’t wanna go out? But saying no to him is a big no-no. What if he gets upset? What if he chooses someone else over you? What if he meets somebody else?”

She looked away, trying to think of a new explanation that supports her opinion.

“Babe…that’s not a relationship! that’s a prison you both are confining yourselves to. I don’t doubt your love for each other, but love is supposed to set you free. You too are in a symbiotic relationship with him. Both of you benefit each other. Isn’t the love, the support or the promise of togetherness is a kind of benefit that keeps you sane during the struggling days of life? When you don’t have any rules for loving your parents, your siblings or your friends, then why do you have one for loving your partner?” I laughed lightly, then got busy with my mobile.

I hope she understood my point. Did you?

via Daily Prompt: Symbiosis

12 thoughts on “There’s no rule of love

Leave a Reply

