Room no.409

Chapter 1

“409, that’s my room.”

I could see the sudden change in her facial expression. “409!” she exclaimed.

I asked,” Yeah…why?”

“Leave that room…”

Chapter 2

“What you guys said was right.” I blurted out as soon as I stepped into my hostel room.

Both my roomies looked up from their mobile screen.

“What did we say?” “What are you talking about?” Maya and Asha asked respectively.

I sat on my bed and replied, ” that this room is haunted.”

Chapter 3

They stole glances at each other.

“I met this girl called Ahana…she stays in room 310. She told me some really spooky stories about this room.”

They started laughing hysterically. “Do you really believe in ghosts?”

“No, I don’t.” I replied, swallowing hard.

Chapter 4

When I was first shown that room, I loved it; it had plenty of space, attached toilet and a balcony. I didn’t think twice before saying yes. Maya and Asha came a couple of days later. In no time, we became good friends. But we never felt anything wrong about that room.

“Are these all made up stories?”I sighed and closed my eyes.

Ahana’s words kept ringing in my ears.

“Ruhi…” I heard someone whispering my name in my ear.

I jerked awake. Turning on the bed lamp, I looked to my right; Maya and Asha were sleeping in their respective beds. I switched off the lamp and closed my eyes.

“Ruhi…” that husky voice whispered in my ear again.

I instantly turned on the bed lamp. Initially I thought Maya and Asha were playing a prank on me. But they were sound asleep; it wasn’t even possible for them to return to their beds so quickly.

But I was sure I wasn’t dreaming.

Chapter 5

The next morning when I narrated my last night’s experience to my roomies, they laughed it off saying it was a dream. I understood it was no use talking to them about it anymore. After they left for work, I called up Ahana and told her about it.

“I told you to leave that room.” She replied.

“Will you talk to my roomies? We both can try to convince them.”

“But…I don’t wanna go to that room.” she sounded scared.

“We’ll come to your room.”

She agreed.

Chapter 6

Seeing our hostel room locked, I understood my roomies hadn’t returned yet. I opened the lock and pushed the door open. It was completely dark. I turned the mobile flashlight on and the moment I looked ahead, I saw a dark figure sitting on my bed.

“Who is it?” I shouted; my hands trembled.

“Ruhi..” I heard a voice coming from inside the room.

I wanted to run, but my legs were frozen. The figure stood up and started moving towards me. I wanted to scream, but my lips didn’t move. It was now only a few steps away from me. I squeezed my eyes shut in fear.

“Ruhi…” a voice whispered in my ear. I could feel the presence of someone near me. “Where is it? Is it standing before me…next to me…or behind me?” Gathering all my strength, I screamed out – “Help! Help me!”

“Are you alright?” I heard a familiar voice.

Chapter 7

It was Ahana. “I heard you scream. What happened?” She asked.

I started breathing heavily; She took the flashlight from my hand and pressed the main switch of our room.

“Why were you standing in the dark?” She asked again.

“I…I saw…someone…” I wheezed as I uttered the words.

“Who did you see? there’s nobody out here, Ruhi!” Ahana exclaimed.

I opened my mouth to say something, when I heard Maya’s voice –

“Who are you talking to Ruhi?” I turned around; Maya and Asha were standing behind me.

“We can’t see anybody out here…are you talking to yourself?” Asha asked, furrowing her brow.

Chapter 8

“Madam, there are only 9 rooms in each floor. We don’t have room 310 in our hostel.” the hostel owner uttered crankily.

“Then who is Ahana? She stays there.”

“Ahana! there’s no such name in our register.”

“It’s impossible.” I started sweating profusely. “Your entire hostel is spooky. Come to my room and ask my roomies if you don’t trust me.” I shouted at him.

He frowned, “but…madam…”

“I don’t wanna hear a word from you…you hid the truth from us.” I stormed out of his office; he followed me silently.

Chapter 9

I darted towards my room after we reached the 4th floor. I knocked on the door of our room and waited for them to open it.

“Madam…why are you knocking?”

I glared at him. He said hesitantly, “the door’s open.”

I turned to the door; it was indeed open. I frowned and pushed the door open.

“Now ask them! they’ll tell you what happened today.” I said pointing to my roomies.

Chapter 10

He looked around our room, and then looking back at me he asked, “Who should I ask? There’s nobody in there Madam…that’s what I was trying to tell you. You stay alone in this room.”

I turned to my roomies; Maya and Asha were smiling broadly at me.

– Chirasree, a dreamer.

 

 

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “Room no.409

  1. Oh my god … That is one hell of a spooky writing… Could have been better but for now it’s good . But one thing I didn’t understand that why is it written chapter wise , I mean that the story ends in one go .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really spooky! Reminded me of an old Amitabh and Dimple movie… can’t recall the name. One of the characters says ‘She talks as if she is alive.’ I was wondering, if Roohi herself was alive 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

