May I hold your hand again?

“I didn’t expect to see you here.” I sat beside him.

He nodded silently.

“He wanted to stay with me…remember?” Words stuck in my throat.

He took a deep breath – “…she doesn’t come to meet me.”

I turned my face away to wipe a teardrop from the corner of my eye before it could fall; I turned it back and saw him blinking his eyes to stop his tears.

He cleared his throat – “Remember this place used to be a park?…we came here with them.”

I smiled and looked ahead – “they’ve cut down all the trees now…”

“I sat here and watched them cut the trees; similarly they cut us out of their lives…they forgot that we’d given them whatever they needed to live…” He sighed.

photo-20170501154634901
photo prompt is provided by Loretta Notto

“We fought over their custody and now the kids have left us here in this old-age home.”

He put his hand on mine – “I’m happy to see you again.”

“…after 25 years.” I smiled.

“Let’s be friends…” He stretched out his hand.

– Chirasree, a dreamer.

Word count – 170

                             FFfAW Challenge-Week of May 2, 2017

 

38 thoughts on “May I hold your hand again?

  1. Very touching story! Seems they fought over custody of the kids during their breakup and now they are in a nursing home together. Love the story! Welcome to the FFfAW Challenge! We are happy you have joined us!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beautiful story my dear! having someone to grow old with its one of the purest joys in life, no matter the dark history or bitterness before, our heart should always be open to forgiveness and reconciliation, I really loved this story line. nice to see you writing for this prompt.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

