The Shelter #PART 2( 2 min read)

The Shelter #PART1

We heard whispers of a woman and a man talking in the distance.

Suddenly we heard footsteps near the bed as if someone just got off it. I clung to my husband’s arm – ‘did you hear that?’ I asked, looking at him. He said nothing, his eyes widened and lips quivered.

The footsteps started approaching us. It stopped somewhere near us and a moment later the door closed by itself.

We stood there frozen in fear, sound of my own pulse throbbing in my ears.

We heard a clicking sound and the light turned off by itself or did someone just switch it off?

Run…run…run, the voice inside me screamed but my body refused.

We heard the footsteps slowly going away from us. It stopped near the bed; a female voice whispered in the distance. The whispers went on for few more minutes and then suddenly they stopped; a horrifying silence filled the room.

‘Run’, said my husband and pulled the door handle with whatever little energy he had.

We ran out of the room and then down the stairs.

‘What happened?’

We stopped hearing the old lady’s voice; she was sitting on the sofa, a faint smirk lingering on her lips.

‘We can’t stay here any longer…’ my husband said gruffly.

‘The forecast says it won’t stop raining until morning -‘

‘To hell with your forecast!’ My husband shouted.

I glared at her – ‘You deliberately sent us upstairs to that creepy room filled with ghosts.’

Her face tightened; she slowly walked to us – ‘keep your voice down…this is my house. You yourself came knocking at my door looking for shelter. So I -‘

My husband cut her short – ‘We were just inches away from death when a car almost hit us on the road. We thought we should take shelter until the rain’s over…but you made it even more pathetic. Thank you, but we don’t need your help anymore.’

He grabbed the main door handle to unlock it, when the lady said, ‘You do.’

‘Sorry, what?’ I asked.

‘Calm down and listen to me before you leave.’

‘You’re mistaken.’ She added.

I rolled my eyes.

‘But you aren’t totally wrong…’ She continued.

We stared at her blankly.

‘Dead people do live here.’

We swallowed hard, holding each other’s hand tightly.

‘I thought you understood that…’

My throat dried up, words failed to come out of my mouth.

She continued, ‘People up there are very much alive. They are my family. But you know what?’

My husband mumbled something under his breath.

‘They can’t see me. Neither can I.’

‘Then how come…we…can…see…you…’ I stuttered.

‘Because you both are dead. So am I. I got it the moment I opened the door. But I didn’t know you had no realization of your own existence.’

The End….


Written by Chirasree, a dreamer.

 

 

28 thoughts on “The Shelter #PART 2( 2 min read)

  1. Bhaisaahabb
    Majj scary
    Beautifully written
    Not for the soft hearted like me
    Sree because of your thoughts and writings don’t you get scary dreams or feel eerie or paranormal stuff around you
    It’s said that talking about them invites their attention in a way
    I read an article which talked about horror movies in which the actor, director or producer sadly lost their lives the same way as in the movie or the set got burned and something paranormal was experienced by those involved.
    Though I enjoy your stories but because of this reason I would recommend you to shift your focus somewhere else. Beautifully written otherwise. Hope you don’t mind what I said and again any such experience so far ?

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

