Over a cup of coffee( 2 min read)

‘So…how’s life?’ He asked as we sat across from each other.

I smiled faintly, ‘good’, I replied.

‘I didn’t think we’d meet again…’ He said leaning back in the chair.

I forced a smile, and I wish we didn’t, I thought to myself as I blew on the hot coffee cup to cool it.

We both were silent for a while; I could feel his eyes on me, which dashed me; I looked up and our eyes met for the first time. Strangely enough, none of us looked away; I always thought I’d moved on, but in no time I was proved wrong. My heart twinged with ache. I cleared my throat – ‘I’m getting married’.

He smiled broadly – ‘wow! When did all this happen…I mean…when did you -‘

I cut in, ‘it’s an arranged setup.’

He nodded, then opened his mouth but I interrupted, ‘he’s a good guy…he’s well settled…just got a new house…and’

Just as I paused, he asked, ‘Is he a good person? You should know him well before -‘

‘Didn’t we know each other well?’

He gulped.

‘Why did you cheat on me?’ I added, looking him straight in the eyes.

‘……………’

‘I always wanted to ask you this question…’ I heaved a sigh of relief, ‘It’s strange but I feel relieved now…goodbye.’

 


Written by Chirasree Bose.

19 thoughts on “Over a cup of coffee( 2 min read)

Leave a Reply

