The silent girl( 1 min read)

I’m new to this city.

This place is my favorite; it’s only a few steps away from my apartment. I silently watch the people – the grumpy widow, that newly married couple, the grieving man and that little girl in her father’s arms.

They hardly ever notice me. I read their expressions since their language is foreign to me.

That’s what I like the most here. I can choose to be myself, not a mute wife or an obedient daughter.

But sooner or later they’d find out my real identity –

Meera Basu, who murdered her alcoholic and abusive husband.


 

 

img_7557
Bikurgurl 2017
Written by Chirasree Bose for 100 Word Wednesday: Week 26

Word count: 97

23 thoughts on “The silent girl( 1 min read)

Leave a Reply

