I still wonder…what if…( 1 min read)

‘No…I don’t know you’, I blurted out and dashed to the door.

Was he still looking? I wanted to turn around, stop and see if he really was, but I didn’t – why did I not? I still wonder…

It had been ten long years; I pretended not to notice him. He, on the other hand, kept staring at me until I met his eyes. Our eyes locked for a few seconds and I relived every single moment that we had once spent together.

I lived a lifetime in those few seconds. What my life would have been like if…, a thousand questions arose in my heart, until they all were shut off by the sudden gruff voice. I instantly lowered my eyes.

My husband pushed back his chair and got up; I silently followed him.

I stopped after a few steps; Mohan was standing in my way; ‘Rihanaa?’, he uttered quietly, his eyes lit up and hovered over my face.

My throat dried up, my hands trembled.

‘No…I don’t know you’, I mumbled and darted to the door.

Ten years had passed; I still was afraid to look him in the eyes and say, ‘take me to your world…save me…please take me away…’.

What my life would have been like had I held his hand ten years back and run away…?


Written by Chirasree Bose.

16 thoughts on “I still wonder…what if…( 1 min read)

Leave a Reply

