It has seen everything( 2 min read)

'Jinia, come inside…food is served.' Mom called from the kitchen window.

I had been sitting in the backyard since morning; my eyes were fixed on the spot where it all happened.

I hadn't uttered a single word ever since that incident happened. There was a strange daunting silence inside my head; it seemed like all the inside voices were shut forever.

I was about to get up from the bench when the harsh cry of the crow startled me, making me look up at it instantly, isn't it the same…it has seen everything…, my heart started beating hard.

p1190688

It sat on a branch with its eyes pointed at me and it seemed as if its loud cry was narrating the incident to the whole world. My hands started shaking; it seemed my head would explode; my vision started getting blurry when I felt a hand on my shoulder.

It was Mom; I got up and threw myself into her arms. 'It wasn't my mistake…he was beating you…', I shouted my heart out.

She put her hand on my head – 'Shh…nobody will ever know…we've buried the body', said Mom in a calm voice.

I looked back at the Crow, pointed my fingers to it – 'it saw everything, Mom…look at -'

'You're stressed out…let's go inside', she cut in.

'I hope she gets over the trauma of killing her own father… ', sighed Jinia's mother as she thought to herself, '…and never ever gets to know that I was the one who got that done through her…', she looked back, narrowed her eyes at the Crow and muttered, 'you truly have seen everything.'


Written by Chirasree Bose

16 thoughts on “It has seen everything( 2 min read)

Leave a Reply

