Will you…?(1 min read)

I ran down the stairs and lifted the receiver, 'Hello', I panted heavily.

'It's me…', his voice was low and hesitant; still it soothed the stinging pain within me.

'I…', he hesitated,'…I can't…', he sighed.

'…can't make it this time??' I tried hard to keep my voice from trembling.

'They've declared war again…', he said after a long pause.

'Papa wants to -'

'I've to go…I promise I'll call you soon.'

' -meet you…', my voice trailed off; he'd disconnected already.

15 years passed. He has yet to fulfill his promise.


phone-booth-jhc

Word count – 91

Written by Chirasree Bose for 28 JULY 2017

 

17 thoughts on “Will you…?(1 min read)

Leave a Reply

