̶5̶0̶ ̶w̶a̶y̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶ Be Happy( 2 min read)

I'd been sitting in the office canteen for the last half an hour; I hardly had any wish to go back to work.

All I felt like having during lunch break was a cup of coffee; I need to do something about my appetite it seems, I sighed.

I was trying to concentrate on the book in my hand; the moment my eyes fell on its cover the previous week, I knew I needed this one badly.

'Hey, can I join you?'

Suddenly the voice startled me and I looked up, my eyebrows scrunched together.

I nodded silently; he was standing across the table, holding a plate in his hands. The broad smile on his face made me even more agitated.

All I wanted was some alone time, I muttered curses under my breath and decided to leave the table.

He sat down across from me and smiled; I forced a decent smile and was about to get up when he exclaimed, '50 Ways to be Happy!!!' , then laughed out loud.

'What?' I frowned.

After checking his laughter, he said, 'it's the title of your book…', and took a big bite of his sandwich.

'What's so funny?' I could feel anger welling up inside me.

'What's this book about?' He ignored my question.

'It tells you how to be happy…' I shrugged my shoulders.

'And you still seem unhappy, grumpy, irritated…' He replied, a smirk crossed his lips.

I was stupefied by his remark, still I opened my mouth to defend myself but he interrupted.

'You know what!!…to me right now happiness is this sandwich…yummy…you must try', he grinned and then was lost in his definition of happiness.

I silently got up from the table, walked to the bin and threw both the book and the empty coffee cup into it.


Written by Chirasree Bose