Dear Bestie…

Do you remember the days we used to be best friends?

I bet you do.

Do you remember the promises we made, the decisions we'd taken?

Yeah right, we were innocent.

Remember we decided not to get married ever? Huh, now you're married with two kids.

I remember you wanted to be an air hostess. Now you're a housewife.

To my surprise, I don't remember what I wanted to be. Do you?

You know what! I believe we both wanted to be happy. But are you?

Don't ask me if I'm happy. It's a tricky question. It's neither a yes nor a no.

Why don't we talk nowadays? You said you were busy with kids…really? Or…

Those days were better, weren't they? Not because we shared everything, but because we never ignored each other so we could avoid sharing everything.

I'm sure this letter would not reach you for I don't intend it to.

From,

Your forgotten friend.


 

22 thoughts on “Dear Bestie…

  1. Beautiful! but just a small correction that the picture might as well have been a boy and a girl :). It is not uncommon to meet an old friend (who is opposite sex) and discuss this exact same thing. I do anyways!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I can feel your pain. Has happened with me too and when you think back it amazes you how someone that close has become a stranger now and even if you would meet them you would actually have nothing to talk about other than the regular formal talk. Men mostly don’t experience this for getting married or having kids don’t add any restrictions or set of responsibilities in their life. They have to just sit on a couch, watch TV and have food other than going to office whereas for women it’s a different game altogether which makes the need of having a friend even more vital.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

