Five minutes to twelve( 1 min read)

'It's so dark!'

'The lights are on, Granny!!' I replied.

She sighed deeply, 'your eyes aren't wise enough to see the darkness.'

I smiled to myself, Dad's rightshe talks nonsense nowadaysI unfolded the quilt placed near her feet.

'Don't you hear the murmurs?',  she asked.

'No', I replied. She grabbed my hand, 'I can see those eyes…', she whispered.

I gulped.

'Your mother…', she continued.

A shiver ran down my spine.

'…was shouting…I'd shut my door so it wouldn't reach my ears…', her eyes dropped, 'I did nothing when your father strangled her.'

I felt my head spin. My vision got blurred, 'Dad…'

'She never loved your father…how could she? Nobody can love such a beast. Her only mistake was she had the courage to say it aloud'. She added, 'I remember those lifeless eyes…she's been waiting for ages.'

Tears streamed down my face, I leaned my head against the wall.

Suddenly she let go of my hand, 'I've poisoned my son's drink…you can either go save him now or wait here till…', she closed her eyes.

The clock struck twelve; I ran up the stairs to see him die with my own eyes.


Written by Chirasree Bose for Weekly Writing Prompt #101