It’s time to let go ( 1 min read)

'Here she is,' said the nurse handing her the baby.

Ridha gingerly took the infant in her arms, her eyes shone with tears while her lips curved into a smile..

The nurse smiled back, her eyes dropped with a feeling of pity.

'I've been dreading this moment…,' she stared at the baby for a long while, then smiled to herself, for me you were born nine months back, the day I got to know about your existence. I used to put my hands over my belly and try to hear your heart beat…people would call me silly saying you were just a lump, but I could feel you…I used to talk with you and then imagine how you'd reply in your baby voice…but honestly, you're more beautiful than I imagined…maybe this is what heaven feels like…

'It's time…,' the nurse hesitated.

…holding you in my arms and…, Ridha planted a kiss on her forehead; her tiny palm reached out to touch Ridha's cheek.

Teardrops ran down her face, she sniffled and whispered into her tiny ears – 'it's time to let go…,' a forced smile crossed Ridha's lips, '…of your surrogate mother'.

The nurse took the baby girl from her hands, 'her parents have decided to name her after you – Ridha,' she smiled.


Written by Chirasree Bose

19 thoughts on “It’s time to let go ( 1 min read)

  1. Wow Sree I find this a very emotional topic, I couldn’t imagine how difficult it must be for a surrogate mother to give up her child…I thought you wrote this with great compassion and understanding. Thanks so much for adding to this week’s tale weaver.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

